The Scientific Experts Panel

General Coordinator

Dr. Renato M.E. Sabbatini
Bachelor in Biomedical Sciences (1968) and Doctor of Sciences (Physiology and Biophysics) by the Medical School of Ribeirão Preto of the University of São Paulo. Post-doctoral studies in neurophysiology of behavior at the Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Munich, Germany (1977-1979). Assistant Professor and Head of the Laboratory of Neuroethology of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics of the Medical School of Ribeirão Preto (1973-1983), and at the Department of Medical Genetics of the Medical School of the State University of Campinas (UNICAMP) (1983-2003). Founder and director of the Center for Biomedical Informatics and chairman of the Area of Medical Informatics and Biostatistics of the School of Medicine of UNICAMP (1983-2003) and supervisor of graduate studies, Dept of Biomedical Engineering of the School of Electrical and Computing Engineering and the Department of Physiology of the Institute of Biology, both at UNICAMP. Founder and ex-president of the Brazilian Society for Health Informatics, ex-director of informatics of the Brazilian Medical Association. Founder and director president of the Edumed Institute for Education in Medicine and Health (2000-present). Founding Fellow of the International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics (2017-). Fields of activity: healthcare informatics, telemedicine, distance education, electronic publications, neuroscience, quantitative methods in biology and medicine. High-frequency electromagnetic fields, biology and health.
Home page:

Members of the Expert Panel

Dr. Glaucio Lima Siqueira
Graduated in Electronic Engineering and Telecommunications from the Catholic University of Minas Gerais (1977). Degree in Mathematics from the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (1978), master’s degree in electrical engineering from the State University of Campinas (in 1982) and Ph.D. by the University of London (1989). He is currently an associate professor at the Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro. Has experience in the area of Electrical Engineering, with emphasis on Telecommunications, acting on the following topics: measurements, field measurements, broadband, coverage and RF field propagation studies.

Dr. Victor Cruz Ometta
Graduated (BSc) in Electronic Engineering at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, Peru, specialist in in Systems Analysis at the Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Lima, Master in Telecommunications Engineering at the University Ricardo Palma, Lima. Prof. Victor Cruz has had wide professional experience as a Project Engineer at the Panamericana Television Peru TV channel, Telecommunications Project Engineer and Systems Engineer at the National Institute for Research and Training in Telecommunications (INICTEL). In the same institute he has been Chief of the Laboratory of Telecommunications Transmission Systems and is currently head of the of the Group of Research on Electromagnetic Effects Generated by the Telecommunication Services. He is also a professor at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos and Universidad Ricardo Palma, and professor of the Masters Program in Telecommunications Engineering at the National Engineering University, Lima, Peru.
Dr. Ricardo Taborda
Electrical and Electronic Engineer, graduated 1976 National University at Cordoba, Argentina (UNC). Director of Biomedical Engineeering – Engineering School, UNC; Director LIADE (Applied R & D Lab) – Electronics Dept, School of Engineering, UNC, Professor, Transducers & Sensors and Biomedical Instrumentation. President of SABI (Sociedad Argentina de Bioingenieria – Argentine Society of Bioengineering). President, Subsection Cordoba of the IEEE.
Jorge Juan Skvarca, EE

Graduated (BSc) in Electromechanical and Electronic Engineering at the Faculty of Engineering, University of Buenos Aires. specialized in telecommunications and non-ionizing radiation protection policies and standards. Adviser of the Department Medical Devices, Ministry of Health, Argentina, Member of the WHO Expert Advisory Panel on Radiation. Director of WHO Colaboration Center in Argentina for Radiation Emergency (REMPAN), Director of the National Center of UNEP / WHO, Global Environmental Radiation Monitoring Network (GERMON).

International Advisory Committee

Dr. Michael Repacholi
Visiting Professor, University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Rome Italy. Former Coordinator, Radiation and Environmental Health Unit World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland Responsible for WHO’s radiation (ionizing and EMF) health programs 1996-June 2006. Past Chairman and Chairman Emeritus of the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP). Member of the Advisory Board for the European Commission’s EMF-NET Fellow and Past President of the Australian Radiation Protection Society. Member of the Bioelectromagnetics Society. Author or co-author of over 200 scientific publications.
Dr. Paolo Vecchia
Chairman of the International Commission on Non Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP), and Member of the International Advisory Committee of the International EMF Project of the World Health Organization.Past President of the Italian Radiation Protection Association (AIRP), and of the European Bioelectromagnetics Association (EBEA). Professor of “Fundamentals of Protection against Non Ionizing Radiation” at the post-graduate school of Health Physics of the University “Tor Vergata” in Rome. Has authored more than 100 scientific papers on peer-reviewed journals
Dra. Leeka Kheifets
Professor of Epidemiology in UCLA’s School of Public Health. Head of the Radiation Studies Program at the World Health Organization. Former Technical Executive at the Electric Power Research Institute, where she directed a multidisciplinary electric and magnetic fields (EMF) research program, and professor at the Stanford University School of Medicine in the Department of Health Research and Policy. Has served on committees for the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements. Member of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and the International Agency for Research on Cancer Working Groups charged with evaluating potential health effects from EMF exposure, and member of the International Commission on Non Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP). Her research interests include epidemiology of cardiovascular and neurodegenerative diseases and cancer, as well as a methodologic research in risk assessment and policy development.

Organization Assistance

Executive coordinator:

Dr. Silvia Helena Cardoso
Biomedical scientist, Masters and Doctoral degrees by the University of São Paulo at Ribeirão Preto in Psychobiology, Post-doctoral fellow, Dept Phychology, University of California at Los Angeles. Former researcher and professor, Center for Biomedical Informatics of the State University of Campinas, Brazil. Vice-president and director, Edumed Institute for Education in Medicine and Health, Campinas, Brazil.

An Initiative